Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) | Asian Development Bank

Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA)

Established in 1994, the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) aims to accelerate the socioeconomic development of less-developed, marginalized, and geographically remote areas in these four countries as part of a broader goal to narrow the development gaps, not only among ASEAN Member States, but also within them.

BIMP-EAGA covers the entire sultanate of Brunei Darussalam; the provinces of Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, and Papua of Indonesia; the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the federal territory of Labuan in Malaysia; and Mindanao and the province of Palawan in the Philippines. The subregion covers a land area of 1.6 million square kilometers with an estimated population of 73 million.

BIMP-EAGA cooperation aims to increase trade, tourism, and investments by facilitating the free movement of people, goods, and services; making the best use of common infrastructure and natural resources; and taking the fullest advantage of economic complementation.

BIMP-EAGA’s underlying strategy is to mobilize private sector investments with the governments (national, state, provincial and local) providing the facilitative environment and support.

To achieve its development goals, the BIMP-EAGA cooperation is anchored on five strategic pillars: connectivity; food basket; tourism; environment; and socio-cultural and education.

As the Regional Development Advisor to BIMP-EAGA, ADB provides technical and strategic guidance as well as knowledge and capacity building support.

To learn more about BIMP-EAGA, please visit the official website.