Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) | Asian Development Bank

Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS)

In the Spotlight

The Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) is a natural economic area bound together by the Mekong River, covering 2.6 million square kilometers and a combined population of around 326 million.

The GMS countries are Cambodia, the People's Republic of China (PRC, specifically Yunnan Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region), Lao People's Democratic Republic (Lao PDR), Myanmar, Thailand, and Viet Nam.

In 1992, with assistance from ADB, the six countries entered into a program of subregional economic cooperation, designed to enhance economic relations among the countries. Read more


GMS Secretariat

  GMS e-Newsletter Subscribe

 Follow us on Twitter@ThGreaterMekong

  Like us on Facebook